Speech and language data prices, seller by seller

12 sellers of speech and language data were read for the prices they publish and what they pay contributors, each answer quoted from their own pages, listings and announcements, read 22 October 2026.

12 sellers Sellers read from 18 pages, read 22 Oct 2026
6 of 12 How the data is priced: not stated top answer out of 5
5 of 12 The published price, in its words: stated sellers stating it in their own pages (quoted below)
5 of 12 What kind of speech or text: not stated top answer out of 5
5 of 12 What the contributor is paid: stated sellers stating it in their own pages (quoted below)
18 Pages we read 32 named sources; every answer is dated and hashed

How the data is priced

  1. not stated6 sellers
  2. a price per dataset or corpus2 sellers
  3. a price per book or per work2 sellers
  4. priced on request1 seller
  5. a subscription or access plan1 seller
One answer for each of the 12 sellers.
Counts
RowValue
not stated6 sellers
a price per dataset or corpus2 sellers
a price per book or per work2 sellers
priced on request1 seller
a subscription or access plan1 seller

The published price, in its words

  1. not stated7 sellers
  2. stated5 sellers
One answer for each of the 12 sellers.
Counts
RowValue
not stated7 sellers
stated5 sellers

What kind of speech or text

  1. not stated5 sellers
  2. books3 sellers
  3. several kinds2 sellers
  4. conversational speech1 seller
  5. varies1 seller
One answer for each of the 12 sellers.
Counts
RowValue
not stated5 sellers
books3 sellers
several kinds2 sellers
conversational speech1 seller
varies1 seller

What the contributor is paid

  1. not stated7 sellers
  2. stated5 sellers
One answer for each of the 12 sellers.
Counts
RowValue
not stated7 sellers
stated5 sellers

All the answers, seller by seller

Every row is a single seller, and every answer expands to the wording it was taken from, the page it came from and when it was read. "Not stated" is used when the page says nothing on the point.

SellerHow the data is pricedThe published price, in its wordsWhat kind of speech or textWhat the contributor is paid
Appen
not stated

Not addressed in Appen off-the-shelf datasets catalogue

not stated

Not addressed in Appen off-the-shelf datasets catalogue

not stated

Not addressed in Appen off-the-shelf datasets catalogue

not stated

Not addressed in Appen off-the-shelf datasets catalogue

Bartz v. Anthropic settlement
a price per book or per work

It provides approximately $3,000 per work (not per Class Member) Settlement website, frequently asked questions

It provides approximately $3,000 per work (not per Class Member), plus interest earned on…

It provides approximately $3,000 per work (not per Class Member), plus interest earned on the Settlement fund, less the Court-approved costs and fees taken out of the Settlement fund. Settlement website, frequently asked questions

books

This means in most cases that you are a publisher or author of a book Settlement website, frequently asked questions

The Settlement provides that for many types of works such as trade books and university…

The Settlement provides that for many types of works such as trade books and university press books, the payment, by default, will be split 50-50 between authors and publishers. Settlement website, frequently asked questions

Created by Humans
not stated

Not addressed in Created by Humans home page

not stated

Not addressed in Created by Humans home page

not stated

Not addressed in Created by Humans home page

Get compensated when your work is licensed

Get compensated when your work is licensed Created by Humans home page

Datoric AI
not stated

Not addressed in tts-conversational-voice-20000h dataset card

not stated

Not addressed in tts-conversational-voice-20000h dataset card

conversational speech

20,000 hours of 48kHz conversational speech across 30+ languages tts-conversational-voice-20000h dataset card

not stated

Not addressed in tts-conversational-voice-20000h dataset card

Defined.ai
a subscription or access plan

Not addressed in Defined.ai audio datasets page

Defined.ai Launches Data Access Plan (DAP): Allowing Access to Speech Datasets at affordable prices Data Access Plan announcement

Standard Plan: 315 hours of speech data for €50,000 (30% discount)

Not addressed in Defined.ai audio datasets page

Standard Plan: 315 hours of speech data for €50,000 (30% discount) Data Access Plan announcement

several kinds

from on-device scripted speech to call-center-style dialogue, live podcasts, music tracks and licensed SFX Defined.ai audio datasets page

Not addressed in Data Access Plan announcement

not stated

Not addressed in Defined.ai audio datasets page

Not addressed in Data Access Plan announcement

HarperCollins
a price per book or per work

The HarperCollins licensing deal provides for a $5,000 fee per title Authors Guild on the HarperCollins AI licensing deal

The HarperCollins licensing deal provides for a $5,000 fee per title, which will be split…

The HarperCollins licensing deal provides for a $5,000 fee per title, which will be split 50-50 between an author who chooses to participate and HarperCollins. Authors Guild on the HarperCollins AI licensing deal

books

publishers must obtain permission from authors before including their books in AI licensing deals Authors Guild on the HarperCollins AI licensing deal

which will be split 50-50 between an author who chooses to participate and HarperCollins

which will be split 50-50 between an author who chooses to participate and HarperCollins Authors Guild on the HarperCollins AI licensing deal

Linguistic Data Consortium
a price per dataset or corpus

2026 members can access this corpus through their LDC accounts. Non-members may license this data for $3000. LDC new corpora announcement (LINGUIST List)

Non-members may license this data for $3000.

Non-members may license this data for $3000. LDC new corpora announcement (LINGUIST List)

not stated

Not addressed in LDC new corpora announcement (LINGUIST List)

not stated

Not addressed in LDC new corpora announcement (LINGUIST List)

Nexdata
a price per dataset or corpus

License Starts at One-off purchase $20,000 / purchase Multilingual read speech data, 65,000 hours (Datarade listing)

License Starts at One-off purchase $20,000 / purchase Unscripted call centre telephony speech, 20,000 hours (Datarade listing)

License Starts at One-off purchase $20,000 / purchase Speech synthesis data collection services (Datarade listing)

License Starts at One-off purchase $100,000 / purchase 8kHz conversational speech, 15,000 hours (Datarade listing)

License Starts at One-off purchase $20,000 / purchase Code-switching speech, 5,000 hours (Datarade listing)

License Starts at One-off purchase $20,000 / purchase

License Starts at One-off purchase $20,000 / purchase Multilingual read speech data, 65,000 hours (Datarade listing)

License Starts at One-off purchase $20,000 / purchase Unscripted call centre telephony speech, 20,000 hours (Datarade listing)

License Starts at One-off purchase $20,000 / purchase Speech synthesis data collection services (Datarade listing)

License Starts at One-off purchase $100,000 / purchase 8kHz conversational speech, 15,000 hours (Datarade listing)

License Starts at One-off purchase $20,000 / purchase Code-switching speech, 5,000 hours (Datarade listing)

varies by document

Multilingual Read Speech Data Multilingual read speech data, 65,000 hours (Datarade listing)

AI Training DataAudio DataCall Center Audio DataUnscripted Call Center Telephony Speech Data | 20,000 Hours |Speech... Unscripted call centre telephony speech, 20,000 hours (Datarade listing)

Not addressed in Speech synthesis data collection services (Datarade listing)

AI Training DataAudio DataConversation Audio Data8kHz Conversational Speech Data | 15,000 Hours | Audio Data | Speec... 8kHz conversational speech, 15,000 hours (Datarade listing)

AI Training DataAudio DataMixed Speech Data |5,000 Hours |Code-switching|Audio Data| Speech R... Code-switching speech, 5,000 hours (Datarade listing)

not stated

Not addressed in Multilingual read speech data, 65,000 hours (Datarade listing)

Not addressed in Unscripted call centre telephony speech, 20,000 hours (Datarade listing)

Not addressed in Speech synthesis data collection services (Datarade listing)

Not addressed in 8kHz conversational speech, 15,000 hours (Datarade listing)

Not addressed in Code-switching speech, 5,000 hours (Datarade listing)

Opendatabay
not stated

Not addressed in Opendatabay marketplace home

not stated

Not addressed in Opendatabay marketplace home

not stated

Not addressed in Opendatabay marketplace home

not stated

Not addressed in Opendatabay marketplace home

Princeton University Press
not stated

Not addressed in Princeton University Press statement on the Bartz v. Anthropic settlement

not stated

Not addressed in Princeton University Press statement on the Bartz v. Anthropic settlement

books

the thousands of PUP and Island Press titles used without permission for training LLMs are part of the settlement Princeton University Press statement on the Bartz v. Anthropic settlement

Princeton University Press is fully aligned with the Settlement’s default split of 50/50…

Princeton University Press is fully aligned with the Settlement’s default split of 50/50 between authors and publishers, for trade and university presses. Princeton University Press statement on the Bartz v. Anthropic settlement

Shaip
priced on request

Licensing: Get a license tailored to your needs. Shaip TTS datasets page

Not addressed in Shaip speech data collection page

not stated

Not addressed in Shaip TTS datasets page

Not addressed in Shaip speech data collection page

several kinds

Not addressed in Shaip TTS datasets page

Build a text-to-speech (TTS) multilingual model with the help of our global workforce, who help you collect speech data in 150+ languages Shaip speech data collection page

not stated

Not addressed in Shaip TTS datasets page

Not addressed in Shaip speech data collection page

Wirestock
not stated

Not addressed in Wirestock home page

not stated

Not addressed in Wirestock home page

not stated

Not addressed in Wirestock home page

Upload your work once and earn commission whenever it is licensed.

Upload your work once and earn commission whenever it is licensed. Wirestock home page

Each answer in its source's own words (72 quotes)

Documents we read but did not count

9 named documents were read but are not the kind of document this board answers from; see why below. They are counted and never answered.

The method in full

Each seller's own catalogue, pricing, contributor and book licensing pages were read through estate-fetch and stored whole (sha256 on every row).

For every page, four questions were answered from its own words: how the data is priced, the published price, in its words, what kind of speech or text, what the contributor is paid.

Every stated answer carries the sentence it rests on, checked against the stored text; 'not stated' means the page read does not address the question.

A seller with several pages reads 'varies' where they disagree.

12 sellers, 18 pages.

5 named documents wait to be read; they are left out of every count.

Where we looked (32)
Take this figure with you

12 sellers of speech and language data were read for the prices they publish and what they pay contributors, each answer quoted from their own pages, listings and announcements, read 22 October 2026.

How the data is priced, by seller: not stated 6 of 12, a price per dataset or corpus 2 of 12, a price per book or per work 2 of 12, priced on request 1 of 12, a subscription or access plan 1 of 12 (12 sellers, read 22 October 2026).

The published price, in its words, by seller: not stated 7 of 12, stated 5 of 12 (12 sellers, read 22 October 2026).

What kind of speech or text, by seller: not stated 5 of 12, books 3 of 12, several kinds 2 of 12, conversational speech 1 of 12, varies 1 of 12 (12 sellers, read 22 October 2026).

What the contributor is paid, by seller: not stated 7 of 12, stated 5 of 12 (12 sellers, read 22 October 2026).

Citation: "Speech and language data prices, seller by seller", updated 2026-10-22, https://languagedatalicensing.com/datasets/language-data-rates-by-language/.

HTML to show this figure elsewhere
12 sellers of speech and language data were read for the prices they publish and what they pay contributors, each answer quoted from their own pages, listings and announcements, read 22 October 2026.
Speech and language data prices, seller by seller, languagedatalicensing.com

Other formats: JSON, CSV, Markdown.

Save the CSV (72 answers; derived 2026-10-22)

Describe my language data